top of page

Mystery Blogger Award


So being a newbie blogger comes with a huge learning curve. However, thanks to some of the fellow bloggers I've met through social media channels, I've been able to stay afloat.

One of the new things I've recently discovered is the Mystery Blogger Award. In fact, I've even been nominated for it! Sarah at Mom. Wife. Wine. nominated me, and I am so thankful for the opportunity. If you haven't checked out her blog yet, do it! Her content is loaded with fun stories and super helpful tips and ideas. Although I'm new to Sarah's blog, I'm having a great time exploring her posts.

Now, for the rules.

RULES

1. Put the award logo/image on your blog.

2. List the rules.

3. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.

4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link to their blog.

5. Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.

6. Answer the 5 questions from the person who nominated you.

7. Nominate other bloggers.

8. Notify the nominees that you have nominated them for the award.

9. Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice, with one weird or funny question.

10. Share a link to your best post.

The creator of the Mystery Blogger Award is Okoto Enigma. If you'd like to check out her blog, click here. She mostly blogs about travel and lifestyle topics.

3 Things About Me

1. When I met my husband, I was already engaged to another man. I actually ended up leaving my fiance for him. I struggled with trying to do what was expected of me rather than what was right for me. Once I'd realized that it was MY decision to make, I felt absolute resolve in knowing I made the best possible decision. I have absolutely no regrets, and I think that decision ultimately changed my life and shaped me into the person I am now.

2. Before meeting my husband and becoming a mom, I was a party girl. I was so extra that I actually became a part owner in the local sports bar I was working at. While it felt empowering to become an owner, I still struggle with how that journey ended. Ultimately, the bar dissolved after I moved away. I was never notified, paid out, nor included in the decision to close the bar. One day it just disappeared. I still wonder what happened, but I still don't regret the decision I made to invest. It was an invaluable, albeit expensive, life lesson.

3. I love the Oxford comma. I am generally annoyed when I see people neglecting to use it. I understand that it's not mandatory, but I truly appreciate writers that use it in their work.

Sarah's 5 Questions

1. What is your favourite thing about blogging?

I think my favourite thing about blogging is have a creative outlet. I originally started my blog as a journal to chronicle my foibles in motherhood. I've also used it as an outlet to feel like myself again. As a mother, you wear many, many hats. Besides caring for tiny humans (and sometimes a husband), you're also a cook, a cleaner, an organizer, a doctor, a nurse, a cuddle buddy, and so much more. When I blog, I'm Lindsey again. I'm not "mom" or "babe" or any of those other things. It's just me and my laptop.

2. What is your least favourite household chore and why?

The tedious stuff like dusting and cleaning baseboards and wiping sticking fingerprints off the wall. I don't mind maintaining the bathrooms, laundry, floors, and kitchen, but I hate doing the things that go unnoticed until they don't anymore.

3. When you have a couple hours to yourself what do you do to relax?

I work. I know that sounds a little ridiculous, but I really enjoy my job. I'm a copywriter, so I write and blog for other people. Because I work from home, I often find myself squeezing work in during naps and after the kids go to bed. Therefore, writing, whether it's for myself or for others, is done in my down time.

If I'm really stressed or don't feel like writing (which is hardly ever), I'll soak in the bath tub and play games on my iPad.

4. What is your all-time favourite TV show and why?

This is a tough one, but I think it's The Office. I absolutely adore Pam and Jim. And the one liners and dry comedy really makes me chuckle. I've probably watched the entire series three or more times.

5. If you could tell your younger self one thing, what would it be?

That life is a personal journey. Of course there's people who come along for the ride, but at the end of the day, it's your journey. Don't worry about what other people say and do, just focus of yourself and your loved ones and keep doing you.

My Nominees

I'd like to nominate:

5 Questions for My Nominees

1. If you could be represented by a colour, which one would you choose and why?

2. What is your writing process?

3. If you could change the outcome of one experience in your life, what would it by and why?

4. What does the future look like for you in a perfect world?

5. What is your biggest inspiration?

Thank you again, Sarah, for nominating me! What a fun post idea :)


bottom of page